Longfellow's Wayside Inn
was originally known as Howe's Tavern from 1716 to 1861. The first innkeeper, David Howe, operated what was then called a "house of entertainment" along the old Boston Post Road in the same spot the Wayside Inn stands today. The Wayside Inn
is a Massachusetts Historic Landmark, and is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was typical by 18th century standards but small when compared to today's homes; two total rooms, one over the other. He raised his first five children in this house, and it is believed that he doubled its size, adding two more rooms, by the time he received a license to operate an inn in 1716. The size of the Howe's home and business continued to grow as each subsequent innkeeper left his own mark on the Colonial landmark. The Wayside Inn Archives contains over half a million documents relating to the Howe family and the development of what would eventually be called Longfellow's Wayside Inn, due to the Inn's multiple ties to the famous poet. (The Wayside Inn Archives is open by appointment only. All queries for access can be addressed via e-mail to Guy LeBlanc at firstname.lastname@example.org
. Today, the Inn offers lodging (10 rooms with views of the extensive gardens and charming buildings and historic spaces), dining (hearty, traditional Yankee fare and New England classics for both lunch and dinner), and special events throughout the year.